Messi, Ronaldo and Salah on shortlist for FIFA Best Men’s Player award

Durch player Frenkie de Jong, Paris Saint-Germain and France forward Kylian Mbappe, Argentina and Barcelona forward Lionel Messi, Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder Luka Modric, Brazil and Liverpool goalkeeper Alisson Becker, Netherlands and Juventus defender, Matthijs de Ligt, Spain and Real Madrid's Sergio Ramos, Netherlands and Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk, Brazilian and Real Madrid defender Marcelo and Belgium and Real Madrid forward, Eden Hazard pose during the presentation of the FIFA FIFPRO World Men Eleven team during The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony, on September 23, 2019 in Milan.

FILE – Presentation of the FIFA FIFPRO World Men Eleven team during The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony, on September 23, 2019 in Milan. (Photo by Marco BERTORELLO / AFP)

Paris St Germain forward Lionel Messi, Manchester United’s Cristiano Ronaldo and Liverpool’s Mohamed Salah are among the 11 players shortlisted for The Best FIFA Men’s Player award, the world governing body said on Monday.

The trio are joined by last year’s winner Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich, Manchester City playmaker Kevin De Bruyne and Chelsea duo N’Golo Kante and Jorginho.

Real Madrid forward Karim Benzema, Borussia Dortmund striker Erling Haaland and PSG pair Kylian Mbappe and Neymar complete the list.

Women’s Super League players dominate the women’s award with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema, City duo Lucy Bronze and Ellen White and Chelsea quartet Sam Kerr, Magdalena Eriksson, Pernille Harder and Ji So-yun all in contention.

Emma Hayes, who led Chelsea to the 2021 Champions League final, is joined on The Best FIFA Women’s Coach shortlist by England manager Sarina Wiegman and Canada coach Beverly Priestman.

Manchester City manager Pep Guardiola, Chelsea’s Thomas Tuchel and Tottenham Hotspur boss Antonio Conte are nominated for the men’s award, along with Germany’s Hansi Flick and Italy coach Roberto Mancini, who led them to the Euro 2020 title.

Liverpool’s Alisson Becker, Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy and Leicester City’s Kasper Schmeichel are among the nominees for The Best FIFA Men’s Goalkeeper award.

The winners will be announced on Jan. 17.


Get the hottest sports news straight into your inbox

Read Next

Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *