Easton requires unionst conference

Former DUP MLA Alex Easton has known as for an pressing conference of unionism to be organised.

Mr Easton, who stood within the 2017 election as a DUP candidate, topped the ballot as an unbiased candidate in North Down with 9,568 votes.

He mentioned: “This election has been very difficult for unionism. It needs to do something before it is far too late.”

He appealed to DUP chief Sir Jeffrey Donaldson, UUP chief Doug Beattie, and TUV chief Jim Allister to arrange a unionist conference to urgently chart a means ahead.

Andrew Muir from the Alliance Party, who acquired 6,838 first desire votes, was the second candidate to be elected.

He mentioned he was “ecstatic to have been elected to continue to serve the people of North Down as an Alliance Party MLA”.

He added: “I’m completely delighted that the individuals of North Down have elected me and my celebration colleague Connie Egan.

“The election was a really optimistic final result for the Alliance Party.

“We stood on a platform of progressive politics. We must get the Executive restored.

“There were two clear priorities heard during this election. They were rebuilding our health service and tackling the cost of living”.

Stephen Dunne from the DUP, whose father Gordon Dunne beforehand held the seat in North Down, was additionally elected, together with Alan Chambers from the Ulster Unionist Party.

Mr Dunne mentioned: “I hope to build upon the work of the DUP. We have a long record of service in this great constituency. We want to deliver for the people of North Down and Northern Ireland. ”

Chris Carter, Independent; Therese McCartney, Sinn Féin; Matthew Robinson, Conservative and Unionist Party; Deirdre Maria Vaughan, SDLP; John Gordon, TUV; Jennifer Gilmour, Ulster Unionist Party; and Rachel Woods, Green Party NI, have been all eradicated. – PA

Elected: Alex Easton (Independent), Andrew Muir (Alliance), Stephen Dunne (DUP), Alan Chambers (UUP) Connie Egan (Alliance)

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.